Don't Go It Alone If You Face Drunk Driving Charges

We Work To Minimize The Impact On Your Life

Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs is a serious offense in New Hampshire that results in harsh penalties. If you have recently been charged with a DUI (sometimes referred to as driving while intoxicated or DWI), you will want to work with a defense attorney who knows how to minimize the impact of these charges. At Martin, Lord & Osman, P.A., our criminal defense attorneys will represent you throughout the legal process and assist you as you make important decisions regarding your case, which may include not only court consequences but also the loss of your driver's license.

Blood Alcohol Content Levels In New Hampshire

The blood alcohol content (BAC) levels that constitute a DUI vary based on the age of the driver and the occupation of the driver. Since drinking under the age of 21 is illegal in New Hampshire, any BAC over .02 percent will result in a DWI. Drivers who are over 21 cannot have a BAC level of more than .08 percent. Any motorist with a commercial driver's license is held to a different standard. They are charged with DWI if they have a BAC level over .04 percent, whether they are driving for work or in their own vehicle.

Understanding An Aggravated DWI

If you are charged with an aggravated DWI, you may face more severe penalties, including higher fines and a jail sentence. A person may be charged with an aggravated DWI if they are driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs while also speeding, causing an accident, attempting to elude an officer, driving a minor under the age of 16 or operating a vehicle with a BAC level of more than .16 percent.

DUI/DWI Penalties In New Hampshire

The penalties for a DWI in New Hampshire vary based on the individual circumstances and the number of drunk driving offenses an individual has. A person facing a second or subsequent offense within 10 years will likely face jail time. That is why it is critical to keep a first-time DWI off your record. Our DWI lawyers will help you navigate the judicial system and minimize the penalties you face.

We represent clients throughout New Hampshire from our offices in Laconia, Lancaster, Lebanon and Wolfeboro. Call 603-524-4121 or use our online contact form to schedule a consultation.